Tag: 上海千花网YZ

Drake Athletics Honors Student-Athletes At Annual End of Year Banquet Presented by Daktronics

first_imgMembers of Drake’s coaching staff and support staff were also honored for their commitment to the Bulldog Way as women’s soccer’s Lindsey Horner was named the Bulldog Way Coach of the Year while Tom Florian, assistant director of ticket operations and donor management, was the recipient of the Bulldog Way Leader of the Year. The Bulldog Club awarded its first ‘Commitment Award’  to a Bulldog Club member that went above and beyond in their commitment to Drake athletics and Bulldog Club. Dixie Byers was the recipient of the award for generating more than 25 new commitments to the Bulldog Club or season tickets and securing the funding to endow women’s basketball’s ‘Hoops For Hope’ game in honor of Dr. Deb Welker.Finally, Mr. Drake himself, Paul Morrison, honored this year’s four-year letterwinners. This year’s honorees include 42 student-athletes that have reached one of the pinnacles of athletic success at Drake in earning a letter during all four years of competition and being among the finest of the more than 5,000 letterwinners that have represented Drake University. Below are those student-athletes that Mr. Morrison bestowed with fourth letter. Karl Madison—Men’s BasketballEmma Donahue—Women’s BasketballRob McCann—Cross Country/Track & FieldJames Saxton—Cross Country/Track & FieldCassie Aerts—Cross Country/Track & FieldEmma Huston—Cross Country/Track & FieldKrista Maguire—Cross Country/Track & FieldTaylor Scholl—Cross Country/Track & FieldJack Beck—FootballJohn Bloss—FootballCam Bohnert—FootballBrad Duwe—FootballMichael Hudson—FootballJohn Hugunin—FootballAaron Johnson—FootballJohn McMahon—FootballBob Quilico, Jr.—FootballGary Scott, Jr.—FootballKatie Clausen—Women’s GolfEmily Householter—RowingAlex Lueck – RowingTristina Meister – RowingBri Varela – Rowing Alec Bartlett—Men’s SoccerAustin Reutzel—Men’s SoccerAlex Troester—Men’s SoccerKyle Whigham—Men’s SoccerMariah Boncek—Women’s SoccerKylie DeHaven—Women’s SoccerRhian Pritchard—Women’s SoccerMariah McKinnon—SoftballBen Lott—Men’s TennisMariel Ante—Women’s TennisMaddie Johnson—Women’s TennisLea Kozulic—Women’s TennisJordan Eggleston—Women’s TennisRyan Cook—Track & FieldDavid Silkman—Track & FieldJaclyn Aremka—Track & FieldDestani Welch—Track & FieldRebecca Brown—VolleyballShelby Daum—VolleyballWith spring sports still competing, the Bulldogs will announce additional awards during the annual Welcome Back Picnic on Aug. 28. There, Drake will honor the Dixie Byers Comeback Player of the Year, the Howlett Awards given to the Student-Athletes of the Year, the Newcomer of the Year Award and the Bulldog Way Director’s Cup.Print Friendly Version DES MOINES, Iowa – The Drake University athletic department honored its student-athletes on Friday, May 6, with the annual year end banquet presented by Daktronics. A wide array of awards and honors were handed out as the Bulldogs put the finishing touches on a successful 2015-16 season in competition and in the classroom.Ten student-athletes were presented the MVC Presidents Council Award, for seniors within 18 hours of graduation, who have achieved a cumulative grade-point-average of 3.80 or higher and participated in athletics for a minimum of two years. Honored were Cassie Aerts (Cross Country/Track & Field), Kayla Bell (Track & Field), Katie Clausen (Women’s Golf), Emma Huston (Cross Country/Track & Field), Ali Jandal (Cross Country/Track & Field), Maddie Johnson (Women’s Tennis), Rob McCann (Cross Country/Track & Field), James Saxton (Cross Country/Track & Field), Alex Troester (Men’s Soccer) and Bri Varela (Rowing).For the first time, the Bulldogs’ Student-Athlete Advisory Committee presented the Bulldog Cup, an award given to athletic teams for their participation in supporting other teams, conducting community service and fostering an atmosphere of collegiality. Women’s tennis received the Bulldog Cup for 2015-16 with rowing, men’s soccer and football coming in next in the standings created by SAAC.SAAC representatives Ali Jandal and Bri Varela also recognized the 17 Bulldogs listed below who have maintained a cumulative GPA of 4.0. Kayla Caldwell, Rowing, Graphic DesignNathan Clayberg, Football, Actuarial Science/FinanceLinda Fiorito, Women’s Soccer, Business StudiesMadison Glennie, Women’s Golf, English & Law, Politics and SocietySydnie Gutzmann, CHEER, Biochemistry, Cell, Molecular BiologyAli Jandal, Men’s Track/Cross Country, Chemistry & Biochemistry, Cell, Molecular Biology Griffin Jaworski, Men’s Track/Cross Country, Master of Financial ManagementMaddie Johnson Women’s Tennis, PsychologySteven Jordan, Men’s Track, PharmacyVanessa Kavan, Women’s Soccer, MarketingIsaiah Kent-Schneider, Football, Environmental ScienceKarl Madison, Men’s Basketball, Master of Public AdministrationKrista Maguire, Women’s Cross Country, Master of Business AdministrationHaley Morris, Women’s Soccer, Marketing & AdvertisingSara Rhine, Women’s Basketball, Elementary EducationAli Smith, Women’s Soccer, Finance and International BusinessBen Troester, Men’s Soccer, Accounting & FinanceBri Varela, Rowing, Elementary EducationKevin Vaughan-Carber, CHEER, Actuarial Science & PhysicsDrake’s strength and conditioning staff also recognized its each team’s top performer in the weight room as well as the department’s strength and conditioning athlete’s of the year, Kayla Bell (Track & Field) and Eric Saubert (Football). Below are the individual honorees from each sport.Men’s Basketball – Reed TimmerWomen’s Basketball – Lizzy WendellCheer – Sarah WorrellMen’s Cross Country – Ali JandalWomen’s Cross Country – Laura GannFootball – Eric SaubertMen’s Golf – Will McDonaldWomen’s Golf – Katie ClausenWomen’s Rowing – Emily HouseholterMen’s Soccer – James GrunertWomen’s Soccer – Sarah Grace NicholsonSoftball – Mariah McKinnonMen’s Tennis – Bayo PhilipsWomen’s Tennis – Maddie JohnsonMen’s Track & Field – Pierce VincentWomen’s Track & Field – Kayla BellVolleyball – Michelle Thommi The Bulldog Way Players’ Choice Award, was presented for the third consecutive year to an athlete from each team in the Drake athletic department, who has distinguished themselves on and off the field in living out the vision and values expressed in the Bulldog Way. Student-athletes were nominated by their teammates and the student-athlete receiving the most votes was recognized. They were:Women’s Basketball – Emma DonahueMen’s Basketball – A.J. RutterCheerleading – Sarah DeanMen’s Cross Country – Reed FischerWomen’s Cross Country – Bailee CoferFootball – Taylor ColemanMen’s Golf – Karter SmithWomen’s Golf – Katie ClausenRowing – Sadie RobbMen’s Soccer – Ben LeMayWomen’s Soccer – Haley MorrisSoftball – Kaitlyn FinneranMen’s Tennis – Calum MacGeochWomen’s Tennis – Maddie JohnsonMen’s Track and Field – Pierce VincentWomen’s Track and Field – Kayla BellVolleyball – Chandelle Davidsonlast_img read more